Ubaya Won The Women's National College Basketball League

  • February 21, 2012
  • Fadjar Efendy Rasjid

JAKARTA, KOMPAS.com Ubaya women’s basketball team won the 2012 ACSI National College Basketball League (Limbamanas) after defeated Universitas Pelita Harapan (UPH) Karawaci 77-64 on the final at Senayan Basketball Stadium, Jakarta, Monday (20/2/2012).

The match was very tight because both teams have the same skills and ability. The UPH score was always close but behind Ubaya, yet, since the 3rd quarter, the Ubaya score was far in front of UPH.

Ubaya men’s basketball team also advanced to the final, and when this news was released, they are still playing against Institut Teknologi Harapan Bangsa (ITHB) Bandung.

Perbanas, Ubaya, and UPH Entered the Big 4 of the 2012 National College Basketball League

Jakarta, Kompas – Both University of Surabaya and Universitas Pelita Harapan Karawaci Men’s and Women’s basketball teams successfully advanced to the semifinal of the 2012 ACSI Libamanas held on Sunday (19/2). The qualified after defeated their opponents on the big 8 round, Saturday, at Senayan Basketball Stadium, Jakarta. ABFII Perbanas Jakarta women’s basketball team as the defending champion also advanced to the semifinal.

Ubaya men’s team advanced to the semifinal after defeated Universitas Katolik Parahyangan (Unpar) Bandung team 43-69. While, Ubaya women’s team advanced to the semifinal after defeated STIE Indonesia, Jakarta team 71-52.

UPH men’s team as the defending champion beaten Universitas Esa Unggul (UEU) team 71-59. While, UPH women’s team defeated Universitas Padjadjaran (Unpad) Bandung 62-55.

Furthermore, ABFII Perbanas women’s team beat Universitas Airlangga (Unair) Surabaya team 72-34. Cecilia Dwi Maya as APFII Perbanas coach said that her team reached the peak on the 3rd and 4th quarters. “On the 1st and 2nd quarters, my team followed the slow rhythm performed by our opponent,” she said.

From: Kompas.com


Libamanas: Ubaya Women Outlast UPH for College Title
Ami Afriatni | February 20, 2012

After five years of waiting, the University of Surabaya team lifted the National Collegiate Basketball League women's trophy again.

The team from East Java, which won its first ACSI-Libamanas title in 2007, took control in the fourth quarter to beat tournament favorite Pelita Harapan University (UPH) 77-64 in Monday's championship game at Gelora Bung Karno Basketball Hall in Jakarta.

“This is a great victory. The team has been playing above expectations,” University of Surabaya (Ubaya) coach Wellyanto Pribadi said after the championship trophy was presented to the team.

“We really didn’t expect this. Several of our starters were injured before going to Jakarta, but we beat the odds to win here. The girls worked really hard for the title.”

Monday’s victory was a testament to that hard work.

From the game’s opening tip, both teams clamped down on defense, but Ubaya still had the legs to take over in the fourth quarter for the win.

Though neither team was able to dominate, Ubaya managed to stay in front and head into halftime with a slim 38-34 lead. The team fell behind for the first time when UPH’s Ajeng Tranita sank a three-pointer to make it 45-42.

That was UPH’s first and last lead.

Ubaya regained control to close the third quarter then dominated the fourth, outscoring UPH 20-14.

“We were a bit tense in the first three quarters,” Ubaya captain Mega Nanda Perdana Putri said. “But we were better on the boards and built on that to finally win the trophy.”

UPH coach Daniel Rahadi said his team was unable to slow Ubaya’s fast break.

“Ubaya’s No. 15 [point guard Sophia Gabriel] made the difference tonight. We just failed to cope with her speed,” Daniel said.

“I also made several bad decisions in the fourth quarter that cost us the trophy. But we’ll learn from this mistake and be better next season.”

Dikutip dari: http://www.thejakartaglobe.com

Update: February 21, 2012 | Read 8503 times | Download versi pdf: Ubaya-Won-The-Women-s-National-College-Basketball-League.pdf